Those were the days on the path least traveled…

Diary from the path least traveled…

Hello Diary,

A rainy Saturday, a brief break from the oppressive heat and humidity from last week…hopefully it will be awhile before that type of weather returns but the long range forecast is for more of it the next two or threes months… climate warming and we have helped… majority of the plants, and creatures, around here are not tropical and having a stressful time of it, especially with the soil being dry… did get some more beans and cucumbers…

cuc & beans

Not the quality of the first batch but edible, tomatoes struggling.. the hibiscus likes the warm humid weather…

hibiscus

And the hummingbirds like the hibiscus, seen one yesterday buzzing around, first one I have seen…climate has changed the lives of a lot of creatures large and small…. 🙂 the migratory birds that stayed in this area have ventured back south…I call them “snow birds” after their human counterparts… 🙂 the little sparrows that stay and tough it out are glad to see them gone, no more competition and bullying, and at the bird baths they can have a pool party… 🙂

sparrow pool party

Built an arch over one birdbath… it use to be in the shade until the village had to cut the tree down…vines will form a canopy over the birdbath in time…

bath arch

Glanced at the news this morning and it seems there is a element of today’s American society that is more interested in their bank account rather than the welfare of their fellow human beings.. they also claim to be Christians (glad I am not one)… Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm…appears to be hypocrites to me… 🙂 as for me, though being on a limited income, I try help those in need as best I can, one manner is I am a sustaining (monthly) contributor to the E.I. Foodbank….

foodbank

A couple of quotes that carry my sentiment….

“The life I touch for good or ill will touch another life, and that in turn another, until who knows where the trembling stops or in what far place my touch will be felt.” Friedrich Buechner

“Did I offer peace today? Did I bring a smile to someone’s face? Did I say words of healing? Did I let go of my anger and resentment? Did I forgive? Did I love? These are the real questions. I must trust that the little bit of love that I sow now will bear many fruits, here in this world and the life to come.” Henri Nouwen

That being said, in departing will leave a couple of poems…

What? Me Stop Worrying?…

Me stop worrying, dear???
About Thee I Love!!
Ask the rains to stop falling, darling
From the skies up above!

Command the sun not to shine, my love
Order the rivers to all run dry,
Tell the winds to stop blowing, my love
Command the birds to never again fly!!

The sun will shine, the rivers run,
The winds will blow…. the birds will fly forever,
And I will worry about YOU and love you so
Beyond….. the 12th of Never!!!
(penned by Larry “Dutch” Woller 10-7-2008)

“Portrait of a Friend”

I can’t give solutions to all of life’s problems, doubts,
or fears. But I can listen to you, and together we will
search for answers.

I can’t change your past with all it’s heartache and pain,
nor the future with its untold stories.
But I can be there now when you need me to care.

I can’t keep your feet from stumbling.
I can only offer my hand that you may grasp it and not fall.

Your joys, triumphs, successes, and happiness are not mine;
Yet I can share in your laughter.

Your decisions in life are not mine to make, nor to judge;
I can only support you, encourage you,
and help you when you ask.

I can’t prevent you from falling away from friendship,
from your values, from me.
I can only think of you, talk to you and wait for you.

I can’t give you boundaries which I have determined for you,
But I can give you the room to change, room to grow,
room to be yourself.

I can’t keep your heart from breaking and hurting,
But I can cry with you and help you pick up the pieces
and put them back in place.

I can’t tell you who you are or who you will be
I can only love you and be your friend

Adam Clarke

That being said, have some good reading downloaded on the Kindle, some quality programs lined up and ready to watch, so it is down the path least traveled, seeking rainbows, adventures and destiny…but I shall return again one day, Fate be willing and the creeks don’t rise… 🙂

A leisurely rest of the weekend instore, perhaps a bit of reminiscing ..ahhhhhhhhhhh those were the days, right Mary Hopkins… 🙂

One thought on “Those were the days on the path least traveled…

Leave a Reply

