A little of this and a little of that on the path least traveled…

Diary from the path least traveled…

Hello Diary,

Finished the nails, thought I had better pop in and share a few thoughts… my nails are doing good…when I has my last checkup in March, the doc checked my nails (along with the rest of me) and said I were doing great, especially for my age..said whatever I was doing, stay with it… the answer of course is simple, it is my life and I am doing it my way… 🙂
Back to the nails…

nails 1

Due to the cost of nails, I “roll my own”… 🙂

nails

Stay with the pastels, though in the future may get fancy… 🙂 having a brief respite after the oppressive humidity of last week, though will be short lived as it is suppose to return starting later today and rest of next week…so relaxing today and enjoying life…

With the summer TV evening schedule ( I do not turn the TV on during the say, not till around 4 or 5 pm) being what it is, have been working on how to replace it with my little projects and hobbies the last week with not able to venture out and do all that much… exercise and work in the morning and relax and putter around in late afternoon and evening… not only do I have my chores and things needed doing, but also work with other organization;

COOP/SWOP Observer (since 2001 to present), NWS, ILX, NOAA, Dept of Commerce, USA.
Met Weather Office, United Kingdom.
Ebird (Cornell Lab of Orinthology/Audubon society).
BOINC Project (University of Berkeley, Calif.); Princess Margaret Cancer Center/World Community Grid, Setihome (astrophysics/astrobiology University of Berkeley, Calif.),  POEM@Home (Biology and Medicine, University of Karlsruhe, Germany/protein research).
Invasive Mosquito Project (USDA)

So I am active and that also helps with the mental health as well as the physical health… back to the weather, it has been very dry here and the plants, etc are showing some signs of distress… not only is the grass getting a bit of a brown tint, the ole apple tree is dropping apples because it is unable to sustain them…

ping pong apples

They are about the size of a ping pong ball…also the ground has become very hard and with my plants and veggies in bins and pots with soft compost and potting soil, the squirrels have taken up to doing their digging in the bins and pots… I have had to put wire around the pots and bins to protect the plants…

squirrel and tomatoes

With the dry conditions, they have also taken up chewing on my veggies, you can see where they have chewed on the zucchini…

squirrels and zucchini

So I am at present “dusting” some of the veggies not only for disease and bugs but also to keep the squirrels away… use Sevin dust… but it is about that time of year where one gets a little less rain and more heat, sometime hot.. 🙂 it is also that time of year when those migratory birds that decided to stay around have done their work and returning back south.. What use to be day filled with chirping and singing are now quiet for the most part (except for the A/C.. 🙂 ).. The feeders and bird baths are a bit more bare…

most birds gone

However, the little sparrows, who mainly stay the winter, love it because they have the feeders and bird baths to themselves without the bigger, bullying birds around..

sparrows alone

Well, Dairy, that is enough for today, before I go, I will share some thoughts by others;

“I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief” Gerry Spence

“A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.”  Mahatma Gandhi

“I’ve learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision.” Maya Angelou

“Any piece of knowledge I acquire today has a value at this moment exactly proportioned to my skill to deal with it. Tomorrow, when I know more, I will recall that piece of knowledge and use it better.” Mark van Doten

And I shall return again one day, Fate be willin’ and the creeks don’t rise… the world is still in a mess but take some advice from Bobby McFerrin…

Leave a Reply

