More spring, a taste of winter and a Zip-a-dee-do-dah weekend coming on the path least traveled….

Dear Diary from the path least traveled…

Hello Diary,

Popping in to leave a few thoughts before I bring the day, and the week, to a close.. been a busy week, chores and tasks done and weekend is suppose to be somewhat pleasant weather wise, so will have a leisurely weekend planned while contemplating and planning the future..especially with one eye on spring coming… been having a taste of spring all month with spring like weather, interrupted occasionally by winter…

As I have said, migratory birds on the increase, and plants starting to awake from the winter doldrums…got the hummingbirds favorite, the honeysuckle..

honeysuckle

Hummers, bees and butterflies all like the daylily..

daylilys

This is the bumble bees favorite, a heirloom rose bush..

rose

Not necessarily my favorite with the thorns it possess.. 🙂 and there is also the lilac bush..

lilacs

The general rule of thumb is when the lilac blooms, that is the time to go looking for wild mushrooms, but weather has a great deal to do with that!.. 🙂 it is a bit early for all of these plants to be at this stage, due to the above normal temperatures we have been having and with winter still in the air, there may be some damage and stunt the growth…but for the foreseeable future, there is a warm forecast in spite of Phil’s predictions… 🙂

Will post my spring poem…

I’m watching the sun come up
With coffee in my hand,
Thoughts passing like a gentle breeze
As I gaze upon the land.

Thinking about my garden
As I watch the squirrels at play,
Will this be a good year?
With nature being kind…day by day.?

Or will it be like last year
A struggle both day and night,
Hoping for a better day
With every morning’s light.

Love is in the air
Carried by a gentle breeze,
In the notes of a birds song
As the melody,..gently,.. drifts through the trees.

The time has come to make ready
To plan and to prepare,
Even though it’s cool outside
A taste of spring, and love, is in the air!

Or is it just me………….. grin
(Larry “Dutch” Woller, 4-7-2008)

Getting on the dark side briefly, I see they caught another Republican lying, seems it is getting more and more difficult to trust a Republican these days, male or female.. 🙂

Enough of the dark side, back to the bright side and another poem perhaps…

Weeder’s Thoughts
I have raked the soil and planted the seeds
Now I’ve joined the army that fights the weeds.
For me no flashing saber and sword,
To battle the swiftly marching horde;
With a valiant heart I fight the foe,
My only weapon a trusty hoe.
No martial music to swing me along,
I march to the robin redbreast song.
No stirring anthem of bugle and drum
But the cricket’s chirp and the honey bee’s hum.
No anti-aircraft or siren yell
But there’s Trumpet-creeper and Lily-bell.
With a loving heart and a sturdy hand,
I defend the borders of flower-land;
While high over Larkspur and Leopardsbane,
A butterfly pilots his tiny plane;
But I shall not fear his skillful hand,
My enemy charges only by land.
Would those who lead nations in war and hate
But lay down their guns at some garden gate,
There, bury- their bombs and their bloody deeds,
And join the grand army that’s fighting the weeds.
-ALMA B. Eymann

That being side, will close now and bring the day to a end., looking forward to tomorrow and all the tomorrows to follow, while venturing down the path least traveled.. will return again one day, Fate be willin’ and the creeks don’t rise..

Will have a Zip-a-dee-do-dah weekend, right Uncle Remus??… 🙂

One thought on “More spring, a taste of winter and a Zip-a-dee-do-dah weekend coming on the path least traveled….

Leave a Reply

