Have returned as summer starts to wane on the path least traveled…

Dear Diary Page 97..

Hello Diary…

Surprised to see me?.. 🙂 after giving it some contemplation, thought I would share some thoughts with you from time to time, the saying goodbye was primarily for Facebook, which I shared my blog…Facebook is getting far too commercial and filled with ranters and other assorted not so pleasant people..I also noticed the same with some of the forums and media I did frequent and have seen some that have decided to stop allowing comments.. a sad state of affairs this country, and the world, has come to.. so sad 😦

But, enough of the dark side for now…I have returned, with Bree… and speaking of Bree, she is sleeping in this Sunday morning….

bree nspping

She has three favorite places to nap and one of them is the bathroom floor, it is nice and cool with a bit of breeze with the window open…

Tomorrow is Monday and Labor Day holiday.. will have the traditional (for here 🙂 ) ham and beans and I will cut up some Polish Keilbasa to add to it…

polies, ham and beans

Also opened a tube of biscuit dough and made some garlic biscuits to go with the ham and beans…

garlic biscuits

So, ready for the holiday.. and with it being September it means that the garden has almost ran its course and will start to fade and prepare for the winter doldrums… may get a few more tomatoes but they are spent for the most part…

tomsto

Picked the last of the green beans also..

grn beans

Still have a few flowers left, mainly the roses.. and with the mention of flowers, thought I would share a poem I wrote in history’s past;

A bouquet of flowers from my garden,
Their beauty need not be told,
Their fragrance is soothing and lovely
A pleasant scent for one to behold.

They remind me of you, my love
Whose beauty from within you do share,
Sharing sunshine, understanding and laughter
Sowing the seeds of love and happiness in the air.

This bouquet was picked for you, my love
For coming into my world, my dear friend,
For giving sunshine, laughter, love and happiness
For which I know will never end.
(Penned by Larry “Dutch” Woller May 5, 2008)

With that being said, believe I will stop for now… have a leisurely day planned today with pleasant weather, then next week will start getting ready for winter in earnest.. 🙂 Bree and I still chasing rainbows as we venture on down the path least traveled, eagerly awaiting to see what is around the bend.. will return again one day, not sure when, not sure where, Fate be willin’ and the creeks don’t rise….

And in keeping with the last days of summer, will leave a song by Andre Rieu, my favorite and the song I played the day of my late wife‘s funeral…

The lyrics;

‘Tis the last rose of summer left blooming alone
All her lovely companions are faded and gone
No flower of her kindred, no rosebud is nigh
To reflect back her blushes and give sigh for sigh

I’ll not leave thee, thou lone one, to pine on the stem
Since the lovely are sleeping, go sleep thou with them
Thus kindly I scatter thy leaves o’er the bed
Where thy mates of the garden lie scentless and dead

And one day may I follow when friendships decay
And from love’s shining circle the gems drop away
When true hearts lie withered and fond ones are flown
Oh who would inhabit this bleak world alone?
This bleak world alone……

Leave a Reply

