Only “time” knows on the path least traveled..

Dear Diary Page 68…

Hello Diary..

Had high hopes of the weather being pleasant and able to venture outdoors and do some yard work before the next round of weather, but woke up to cloudy, damp and cold morning, so maybe tomorrow… 😀

Probably a good thing as I will not get much help out of Bree today, she has a upset tum (too much Easter ham, I suspect..) and has been following me around and the plop down…. as they say “misery loves company”… 😀

Bree with upset tum

When she settles down and ready to eat something, will give her a 1/4 of a Tums and she will be back on all 8 cylinders in no time…will have to venture out soon and do a bit of clean up.. the storm door on the north side of the house was in a sad state of disrepair and as soon as the weather was better, was going to take my time and take it down and replace it… had some storms come through last evening and Mother Nature decided the time to deal with the door was now and did it much faster than I would have… 😀

storm door

Unfortunately it left me with cleaning up the mess… did get a start to gardening though.. got the seed potatoes planted and made squirrel proof….

seed potatoes

And in time, will get the rest of the garden up and running…got me a new electric lawn mower, still in the box… 😀

mower

72 years ago this coming November, the month I was born, I made a New Years resolution that I would not garden or do yard work wearing Carhartts and that is one resolution I have never broken… 😀 and all this talk of garden and yard work reminded me of a poem (I did not write) and something my Dad always said “ If I take care of the land, the land will take care of me” and that is something I have always tried to do to the best of my ability…may not succeed helping the planet Earth but I will go to my grave knowing I tried, not everyone can say that… 😀

The poem;

In the corner of his garden, there’s a patch he used to keep
All to himself, to allow nature to creep
There are no trimmed edges
or prim, proper hedges
He left his earth still and alone
Allowed the forces of nature to roam
He said that you don’t always have to be tidy and neat
Just watch the beauty of opportunity grow at your feet
He said just watch the earth produce its own glory
And I watched…and held on to his story
My grandad was right
Add water and light
Behold the sight
There are poppies and flowering weeds
Buttercups and oat coloured reeds
Daisies gingerly lift their heads
Dandelions roar from muddy beds
Purple thistles and strange grasses
Colours that alight and ignite masses
Dark ferns and heathers
Dandelion clock feathers
Birds foot trefoil, a four leafed clover
My grandad’s story is not over
He may have gone, I may have cried
But the beauty he predicted never died
(Author Unknown)

Better go now, Diary, may not garden but still much to do on the path least traveled.. but will return one day, Fate be willin’ and the creeks don’t rise…

Sooooooooooooooo, WHEN, will the gardens grow, Bree get to feeling better, the door get repaired, and what lies ahead on the path least traveled and to add some lines from my poem;

“I’ve donated love, time and money
Ask for nothing in return,
But I see nothing has changed today
Will they ever learn?

I’ve tilled the field and went to war
Helped build cities, towns and much more,
Sowed fields of grain and flowerw with tenderness and love
Has my destiny run it’s course, is there any more?”

Only time knows the answers to those questions, right Enya?

Leave a Reply

