Planning, cooking and farming to a waltz on the path least traveled…

Dear Diary Page 67….

Hello Diary…

Have been busy here with plans, chores and preparing for Easter and yesterday, Wednesday, Bree and I did all three… 😀 first was the chores…started to do the washing and every Wednesday I change the bed… well, this Wednesday, Bree thought her side of the bed did not need changing..

bree on bed

I finally convinced her otherwise, got the laundry going and with the weather somewhat nice at the moment, had ventured outdoors… I have decided to become a “potato farmer”… 😀 I have a couple of empty containers and thought I would try growing potatoes in them…

potato pots

Small scale farming, I will admit but seeing what I can do… while I was there, ventured over to two old “bins” I has made for growing tomatoes…

tomato bins

I am going to do away with them and in their place put two large containers and plant what the Native Americans call “Three Sisters Garden” which consisted of maze, beans and squash, mine will be sweet corn, green beans (pole type) and zucchini….here is a picture of one taken off the internet..

three sisters garden

What all this is about is for me to be able to still garden while dealing with the aging process.. 😀 I do the tomatoes, cucumbers, etc in the same manner using compost…am lot easier to maintain.. While outdoors I recorded the birds serenading Bree and I but when I tried to upload it, no site would accept a recording, sooooooo, I got out the trusty camera and re-recorded it so you will be able to look at a blurred image of my desktop while listening to the birds.. 😀

Moved indoors and decided to prepare the Easter dinner… cooked the ham yesterday, Wednesday….

ham

Along with some cinnamon rolls….

cinnamon rolls

Then finished off everything else this morning, potatoes, green beans, dressing, pasta salad..

easter dinner

Forgot the apple crisp…

apple crisp

Everything is done, mess is cleaned up, put it on the plate, in the micro and dinner is ready… will eat on Saturday instead of Sunday…stopped by the family gravesites and left flowers so all that is left to do is relax and live the day, browsing thru memories of the past, creating new memories today and contemplating what the tomorrow’s may bring…

“We all have our own life to pursue, our own kind of dream to be weaving. And we all have some power to make wishes come true, as long as we keep believing” Louisa May Alcott..

And so it goes on the path least traveled, following the rainbows in the day and the stars at night…will have to go now, Diary, but shall return again one day, Fate be willin’ and the creeks don’t rise…

No spring flowers here as of yet so got Andre Rieu to share some of his… 😀

Leave a Reply

