Cancer and a time to say goodbye on the path least traveled….

Dear Diary Page 22…

Hello Diary,

It has been a cloudy, drizzly day today so stayed indoors and had “Techno Tuesday” and did maintenance on equipment, made changes where necessary, etc…also did a bit of moving things around in the house, preparing for the winter doldrums… 😀

While doing that, came across the myriads of paperwork concerning my wife’s ordeal with cancer and going through all of that will be one of this winters projects… and it also gave me pause for thought about cancer and young families that may have to witness it… my heart does go out to them…. when a someone is diagnosed with cancer, not only does it chat that individuals life but the life of those close to that individual..to have a family with young children, parents working to make ends meet, would be devastating… I was fortunate in that I had only me to deal with and retired…a good deal of sympathy goes out to the individual that has the cancer, and rightfully so, but cannot forget the family because they will suffer also, there lives will change, sacrifices made, knowing all they can to, like me, was give support, be doctor, nurse, cook, jack-of-all trades, hold the hand, shed a few tears and wait for the inevitable, the time to say goodbye…

The White House science team is having a discussion and webcast about citizens helping with research… I had a organization I assist request that I send a letter (internet) to the White House sharing my experience… which I did, the contents to follow:
“Dear Mr. President,

I became a member of the Boinc Project (University of Berkeley, Calif.) in and, like many around the world, help organizations do research in many areas by allowing them to use my computer to download on my computer, process and upload data back to them, allowing them more research capabilities… there are a number of worth while projects, some of which I participated in until 2010 when I decided to concentrate on organizations that were doing work related to cancer… one of those organizations was World Community Grid…

I volunteer as much computer time as possible in hopes that it will speed up the research for cancer… my wife passed away in March of this year, 2015, after being diagnosed with Stage 4 Lung cancer in August of 2012 …. so between helping her battle cancer, and those of others I have witnessed over the course of time, I put as much effort into helping fight cancer as I can…

It is too late to help my wife and I may never live to see it, but hopefully one day, with my meager attempt to help, along with many others world wide, dealing with cancer will be no more serious than dealing with a common cold…. I am sure that the BOINC Project with all its organizations will one day succeed!!..

Respectfully

Larry Woller
Ogden, Illinois 61859 USA

“If there is any kindness I can show, or any good I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again”..William Penn.
Retired, Independent, not into religion…
Veteran, SGT, USMC (Vietnam, in country 1965-66, 12th Marine Regiment).
COOP/SWOP Observer (since 2001 to present), NWS, ILX, NOAA, Dept. of Commerce, USA
Met Weather Office, United Kingdom.
Member National Preparedness Coalition (Dept of Homeland Security/FEMA).
Member (since 2005 to present) BOINC Project (University of Berkeley, Calif.); Princess Margaret Cancer Center/World Community Grid, SIMAP (Biology Universities of Munich and Vienna), POEM@Home (Biology and Medicine, University of Karlsruhe, Germany/protein research), Docking (Scripps Institute/University of Delaware).”

Perhaps with my help and many others, one day in the future, children will not have to say goodbye too soon because of cancer, one can always hope as hope is the last to die… 😀

Maintenance Wednesday tomorrow (refuse out, run the vac, laundry, etc.) as time marches on, on the path least traveled….

(Taken in 1964)
pic of kathy and i

Leave a Reply

