Food, music, poetry and a taste of love on the path least traveled…

Dear Diary Page 20…

Hello Diary,

Taking a brief break and reminiscing about the yesterdays and contemplating the tomorrows and what they may bring… a bit gloomy outdoors but cheery indoors (how you think, so you shall be, 😀 ) and preparing for another busy week as one day Jack Frost will put in an appearance…put some items in the freezer for the winter doldrums to come…

Made some homemade Italian beef, takes about five days (three days marinate and about 16 hours in a slow cooker, NOT a crock pot) to do it right..

italian beef

For today, Sunday’s supper opted for broiled porkchops (the key to good porkchops is poultry seasoning and garlic)….

pork chops

Add scalloped potatoes, sweet corn, salad and cheesy/garlic bagel garnished with bacon.. I am cheating today, potatoes out of a box, didn’t feel like peeling… :D…

potatoes, corn, etc

And back to the weekend love theme, will include a poem called “Portrait of a Friend”

“Portrait of a Friend”

I can’t give solutions to all of life’s problems, doubts,
or fears. But I can listen to you, and together we will
search for answers.

I can’t change your past with all it’s heartache and pain,
nor the future with its untold stories.
But I can be there now when you need me to care.

I can’t keep your feet from stumbling.
I can only offer my hand that you may grasp it and not fall.

Your joys, triumphs, successes, and happiness are not mine;
Yet I can share in your laughter.

Your decisions in life are not mine to make, nor to judge;
I can only support you, encourage you,
and help you when you ask.

I can’t prevent you from falling away from friendship,
from your values, from me.
I can only think of you, talk to you and wait for you.

I can’t give you boundaries which I have determined for you,
But I can give you the room to change, room to grow,
room to be yourself.

I can’t keep your heart from breaking and hurting,
But I can cry with you and help you pick up the pieces
and put them back in place.

I can’t tell you who you are or who you will be
I can only love you and be your friend
Adam Clarke

and if I were able to sing and tell someone what they meant to me, believe the song by Secret Garden says it best….

Well, best get on down the path least traveled…..time marches on and waits for no one and destiny is waiting at the end of the path, wherever that is and whenever I get there… 😀

Leave a Reply

